Memorial Day is coming fast. It is important as the weekend commences that we take all precautions to protect ourselves and others on the road. Memorial Day is a weekend filled with BBQs, beaches, and fun in the sun. If you are going to drink, please be careful to not drive or drive with a person who has not had alcohol. Safety should always come first.
You can get a DUI if you let someone who is drunk drive your car
If you have had too much to drink, you may let a friend drive your car. You are making a good decision not to drive your vehicle, but you may be making a serious mistake not assessing the intoxication of your friend. If you hand over your keys to a friend and they drive your car drunk, you could be held responsible for the repercussions. If that person gets a DUI while driving your car and you voluntarily let them drive, you could get a DUI too. This is important to remember and always be safe.
Consequences for a DUI in New Jersey
If you are caught with a blood alcohol content above 0.08%, you will probably get a DUI. As said before, you can also get one if you let an intoxicated person drive your vehicle. For a first offense DUI, you face a range of fines, up to 30 days in jail, a license suspension for up to 3 months, and a mandatory engagement into the IDRS. For a second DUI within 10 years of the first, you face up to 90 days in jail, a license suspension for up to 2 years, engagement in the IDRC, and a range of fines. Subsequent charges are even more serious. It is critical that you beat the charges and consulting with an effective New Jersey DUI lawyer is best.
Contact an experienced NJ DUI lawyer
Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C. handles all DUI cases in New Jersey. For over 70 years, our firm has provided effective and quality legal support when clients need it most. To schedule a consultation, contact our firm today.