Pennsylvania Assault Charges

If you are charged with assault in Pennsylvania, you are facing a very serious crime that may result in a lifetime of consequence. There are two different types of assault in Pennsylvania that you may be charged with depending on the circumstances surrounding the case. Either way, it is essential that you retain the services of an experienced Pennsylvania criminal defense attorney who can defend your rights and fight for your future.

Simple Assault Charges

If you intentionally cause someone to be injured, you may be charged with simple assault. In fact, even if you don’t actually injure someone but you attempt to cause someone to be injured, you may be charged with simple assault. This is a serious crime and is considered a misdemeanor of the second degree, which may result in time behind bars. If you are above the age of 18 and are charged with assaulting a child 12 years or under, you are facing a first-degree misdemeanor.

Aggravated Assault Charges

The more serious of the two types of assault charges is aggravated assault. Aggravated assault is incredibly serious and may result in years of imprisonment. This charge is a felony of either the first or second degree, depending on the situation. This charge may be administered for the following reasons:

  • causing bodily harm to a child under the age of 6 years old
  • causing serious bodily injury to a child under 13
  • attack with a deadly weapon
  • an attack against a staff member in a school
  • wanton disregard for human life
  • an attack against a law enforcement officer or another govermental officer

If you have been charged with assault, contact our firm for an experienced attorney today.

The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced attorneys throughout the states of New Jersey, Delaware, and Pennsylvania. Please contact the office for a free initial consultation and get any questions answered regarding your specific case.