What are the penalties for 2nd DUI in Delaware?

  • In Delaware, a second DUI offence is any offence occurring within ten years of a first offence
  • A second DUI offence requires a mandatory imprisonment of 60 days, a severe fine, and loss of driving license for a minimum of a year
  • There is no getting out of the 60 day imprisonment; it cannot be suspended
  • The Department of Corrections MAY release individuals after 7 – 10 days due to overcrowding; but there is NO guarantee this will happen