Memorial Day Weekend, along with other summer holiday weekends, are those that see some of the highest rates of driving under the influence arrests. Pennsylvania has three levels of driving under the influence that it is important to be aware of. They each hold their own set of serious consequences and increase in severity as BAC increases. In addition, the consequences get more severe with each previous offense on your record.
A first offense DUI charge for general impairment, which consists of a blood alcohol content from .08 to .099 percent, hold the least severe penalties. Those convicted can expect a $300 fine, up to 6 months of probation, and may have to attend classes regarding alcohol and highway safety.
Any person who has been charged with a BAC of .10 to .159 percent will be facing penalties associated with a high BAC. If you do not have any previous DUI offenses on your criminal record, you can expect to face a fine between $500 and $5,000, imprisonment for 48 hours up to 6 months, a license suspension for one year, potential substance abuse treatment requirements, and alcohol highway safety courses.
Highest BAC and Controlled Substances
If you have been charged with driving with a BAC of .16 percent or higher and you don’t have any previous DUI offenses, you will face serious penalties. These include a license suspension for one year, imprisonment for 72 hours up to 6 months, a fine between $1,000 and $5,000, and courses regarding alcohol and highway safety. In addition, you may be ordered to get treatment for substance abuse.
If you have been charged with any of these DUI offenses, contact an experienced attorney today.
The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced attorneys throughout the states of New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware. Please contact the office for a free initial consultation and get any questions answered regarding your specific case.