As the summer months quickly approach and thousands of New Jersey residents flock to the shore, it is important to be aware that law enforcement plans to crack down on driving under the influence. Not only does this apply to driving commercial and passenger vehicles, it also applies to people who operate maritime vessels or boats. It is important to be aware that a boating while intoxicated crime is just as serious as a driving while intoxicated crime and should not be taken lightly. Of course, everyone wants to have a great time out on the water but it is crucial to do so safely.
Just like operating a motor vehicle, the legal BAC limit for operating a vessel is 0.08 percent. For a first offense, a BAC between 0.08 and 0.10 percent will result in a fine between $250-$400 and a one-year boating license revocation as well as a motor vehicle license suspension for 3 months. If the boat operator’s BAC was over 0.10 percent or they were operating under the influence of a drug, they will be subject to a fine between $300-%00, as well as a boating license suspension for 1 year and a motor vehicle license suspension for between 7 months and 1 year. Upon a second or subsequent offense, an offender can expect more severe consequence, including imprisonment, higher fines, and further license revocation.
It is important to be aware of not only the rules of the road, but the rules of the water as well to make sure you aren’t putting any lives at risk. If you have been charged with a boating DUI, contact an experienced attorney today.
The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced attorneys throughout the states of New Jersey and Delaware. Please contact the office for a free initial consultation and get any questions answered regarding your specific case.