Speed limits are set for a reason. They exist to make sure everyone on the road is safe. However, we all know that people have a tendency to drive well past the speed limit and it presents a danger to everyone else on the road. When a person is pulled over for speeding in the state of New Jersey, they may be subject to points on their license and a fine for speeding. Of course, the faster you are driving, the more severe penalties you will face.
When you get a speeding ticket, you may have points added to your license. When points are added to your license, your insurance premiums may rise. New Jersey’s speeding violation point system is dependent on the number of miles per hour that you have gone over. The points system is as follows:
- 2 points: 1-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
- 4 points: 15-30 miles per hour over the speed limit
- 5 points: more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit
If you get more than 11 points on your license, you may have your driving privileges suspended. Most people will get pulled over for speeding at some point throughout their lives. If you do get a speeding ticket, you can either simply accept the points and pay the fine or you can go to court and fight the ticket. If you choose to contest your ticket, you should consult with an experienced traffic violations attorney who can provide you with assistance.
The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced attorneys throughout the states of New Jersey and Delaware. Please contact the office for a free initial consultation and get any questions answered regarding your specific case.