In New Jersey, reckless driving is taken very seriously. It is classified as any person who is driving without regard for the safety of themselves or the others on the road. Additionally, reckless driving takes any property damage caused by the unsafe driving into consideration.
Law enforcement stationed throughout New Jersey punishes those who fail to abide by the law. Any person who has been accused of reckless driving is facing serious consequences. Reckless driving is a 5-point violation. Any points obtained on your driver’s license can result in skyrocketing insurance premiums. In addition, if a driver obtains too many points on their license in New Jersey, they are subject to license suspension. It is important to know that there are ways a person nearing license suspension can work to remove points.
Aside from obtaining points on a driver’s license, anyone charged with reckless driving is facing a number of other penalties. A first offense reckless driving charge will result in a fine between $50 and $200 and/or up to 60 days of imprisonment. Second or subsequent offenders of reckless driving in New Jersey could face up to three months in jail and/or a fine between $100 and $500.
If you have been issued a ticket for reckless driving in New Jersey, an experienced traffic defense attorney can work towards lessening the consequences. Contact the experienced attorneys MWM today to discuss the circumstances surrounding your case.