Drug DWIs in New Jersey

DWI charges can have lasting implications for your life. Though everybody knows it is illegal to get behind the wheel while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, some people do it anyway. However, you should not be punished years down the line for a simple mistake. If you are charged with a drug DWI in the state of New Jersey, here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I am convicted of a first-offense drug DWI?

First-time offenders are not going to get a simple “slap on the wrist.” If this is your first offense, you face potential jail time, a license suspension, and more. Additionally, a DWI drastically increases your insurance premiums, so you may be paying for it years down the line. To have your charges mitigated, or, in some cases, completely dropped, speak with our experienced firm today. If you are facing a first-offense DWI, you may face the following consequences:

  • 30 days incarceration
  • A 7 to 12-month-long license suspension
  • A $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device

What if I am convicted of a second drug DWI?

Repeat offenders are shown no mercy by New Jersey courts. If this is your second drug DWI offense, you may face some of the following penalties:

  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • Between 2 days and 90 days incarceration
  • 30 days of mandatory community service (60 days if the offense took place in a school zone
  • A 2-year driver’s license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 1-3 years after license restorationAdditional fees and fines

What are the consequences of a third or subsequent DWI offense?

Third and subsequent DWI offenses are harshly prosecuted in the state of New Jersey. If this is your third offense, you may face the following consequences:

  • A $1000 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Various fines and fees
  • Mandatory participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced defense attorneys throughout the state of New Jersey. We understand the severity and immediacy of all personal injury claims and additional legal matters, and we provide each of our clients with compassionate and aggressive legal assistance, every step of the way. Please contact our office for a free initial consultation and get any questions answered regarding your legal case.