What are the Penalties for Third or Subsequent DUI Offense in Delaware?

Anyone who is facing the potential of a third driving under the influence offense is facing something that’s very serious.  First of all, there is no limitation; it’s a lifetime calculation of a third offense. You could have one offense that occurred 10 years ago, another offense that occurred 20 years ago, and now you were just stopped for driving under the influence. That would be a third offense.

The penalty for a third offense is a felony conviction. It is a minimum mandatory six months in jail. It can be up to two years, depending upon the circumstances of the driving under the influence, so a maximum of two years, a minimum mandatory of six months, along with loss of license, along with serious fines. The restoration of your license is in the hands of the Department of Motor Vehicles. It’s very serious!

The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced criminal defense attorneys throughout the state of Delaware. Please contact the office for a free initial consultation and get any questions answered regarding criminal charges and procedures.